Biography - Bonn

Franz Anton Ries im Jahre 1785, Öl/Lwd., PrivatbesitzFerdinand Ries was born on 28th November 1784, the son of Franz Anton Ries (1755-1846) and Anna Gerhardina Horst (1761-1805). He was the youngest member of a significant family of musicians in Bonn with a musical history going back at least as far as his grandfather, Johann Ries (1723-1784), who was a trumpeter, violinist and tenor in the electoral court orchestra in Bonn. For his employer, the Electoral Prince and Archbishop of Cologne, Clemens August, who was an enthusiastic huntsman, Johann Ries composed, among other works, a Saint Hubert’s Mass in 1756. Two of his four children likewise became members of the court orchestra. His eldest daughter, Anna Maria Ries-Drewer, became a soprano.

Johann Ries’s youngest son, Franz Anton, was a child prodigy on the violin. In 1779 he became a first violinist of the court orchestra in Bonn and its leader five years later. From 1791 he was the “Electoral Music Director”. He taught Ludwig van Beethoven the violin and, as a member of the electoral court, was counted among the most respected citizens of Bonn. As a founder member of the Bonn Reading Society and the Bonn Masonic Lodge he was in close affinity with  the ideas of the Enlightenment.

The great musical talent of Franz Anton’s son, Ferdinand, became obvious at a very early age. His father gave him “very thorough instruction on the pianoforte and in music altogether” and he received cello lessons from the virtuoso Bernhard Romberg (1767-1841). At the age of nine he had already composed a minuet and by the age of 11 he had written a string quartet for his father’s birthday. By that time he was already undertaking weekly duties on the organ.

Anna Gerhardina Ries, geb. Horst mit dem einjährigen Ferdinand im Jahre 1785, Öl/Lwd., PrivatbesitzWhen Napoleon’s army occupied the Rhineland in 1794, the Electoral Prince fled from Bonn and the court orchestra was disbanded.  Franz Anton Ries lost not only his position but also a large part of his wealth. In order to feed his growing family he eked out a living by working as a tax collector, smallholder and violin teacher.         

Ferdinand had already been promised a position in the court orchestra, but this was now no longer possible following the flight of the Electoral Prince and the resulting dissolution of the orchestra. In 1797, at the age of about thirteen, he set out as a journeyman in order to complete his musical training, first residing with an organist in Arnsberg in Sauerland, a hilly region in the Electorate of Cologne to the east of the River Rhine, but this only ended in his receiving violin lessons from his organ teacher. His second attempt at continuing his musical training likewise ran counter to his plans. Having arrived in Munich in 1800, he searched in vain for pupils and then had to try and keep his head above water by copying music scores.

At that time Vienna was still the capital of the music world – Napoleon had not yet embarked upon his campaigns against Austria – and so it was decided among his family and friends to send young Ferdinand to Beethoven in Vienna.

 
News
 
Become a Member!
 
Become a Member!
 
Sample Recording
 
Publications
     
 
Lorenz Janscha, Johann Ziegler: Ansicht des Theaters und Redoutensaales zu Godesberg, kolorierter Kupferstich 1729, markiert: Ferdinand Ries Geburtshaus
Ferdinand Ries around 1820, Oil/Lwd., Beethoven-House Bonn
deutsch
english

Biografie - Bonn

Franz Anton Ries im Jahre 1785, Öl/Lwd., PrivatbesitzFerdinand Ries wurde am 28. November 1784 als Sohn von Franz Anton Ries (1755–1846)  und Anna Gerhardina Horst (1761–1805) geboren. Er war das jüngste Mitglied einer bedeutenden Musikerfamilie in Bonn. Schon sein Großvater Johann Ries (1723-1784) war Trompeter, Violinist und Tenor in der kurfürstlichen Hofkapelle in Bonn. Für seinen jagdbegeisterten Dienstherrn, den Kölner Kurfürsten und Erzbischof Clemens August, komponierte er u.a. 1756 eine Hubertusmesse. Zwei seiner vier Kinder traten ebenso in die Hofkapelle ein. Seine älteste Tochter, Anna Maria Ries-Drewer wurde Sopranistin.

Sein jüngster Sohn Franz Anton galt schon früh als Wunderkind auf der Violine. 1779 wurde er Erster Violinist der Bonner Hofkapelle und fünf Jahre später deren Konzertmeister. Seit  1791 war er „Direktor der kurfürstlichen Musik“.  Er unterrichtete Ludwig van Beethoven auf der Violine. Als Mitglied des Hofes gehörte Franz Anton Ries zu den angesehensten Bürgern Bonns. Gründungsmitglied der „Bonner Lesegesellschaft“ und der Bonner Freimaurerloge, stand er den Ideen der Aufklärung nahe.

Die große musikalische Begabung seines Sohnes Ferdinand wurde schon früh sichtbar. Sein Vater gab ihm "sehr gründlichen Unterricht im Clavierspielen und in der Musik überhaupt"; Cellounterricht erhielt er von dem Virtuosen Bernhard Romberg (1767-1841). Mit 9 Jahren komponierte er bereits ein Menuett und im Alter von 11 Jahren schrieb er ein Streichquartett, das er dem Vater zum Geburtstag schenkte. Zur selben Zeit versah er bereits den wöchentlichen Dienst an der Orgel.

Anna Gerhardina Ries, geb. Horst mit dem einjährigen Ferdinand im Jahre 1785, Öl/Lwd., PrivatbesitzAls 1794 die napoleonische Armee das Rheinland besetzte und der Kurfürst Bonn verließ, löste sich die Hofkapelle auf. Franz Anton Ries verlor nicht nur seine Stellung, sondern auch große Teile seines Vermögens. Um seine wachsende Familie zu ernähren, betätigte er sich als Steuerpächter, Gutsbesitzer und  Geigenlehrer.

Durch die Flucht des Kurfürsten konnte Ferdinand eine ihm in der Hofkapelle bereits zugesagte Stellung nicht mehr antreten. Um seine musikalische Ausbildung zu vervollkommnen, begab er sich 1797 im Alter von dreizehn Jahren auf Wanderschaft. Ein mehrmonatiger Aufenthalt bei einem Organisten in Arnsberg im kurkölnischen Sauerland führte allerdings nur dazu, dass er von diesem das Violinspiel lernte. Auch seinem nächsten Versuch, sich außerhalb der Heimat musikalisch weiterzubilden, war kein Glück beschieden. 1800 traf er in München ein, wo er sich vergeblich bemühte, Schüler zu finden und er sich mühsam mit dem Kopieren von Noten über Wasser hielt. 

Noch immer war Wien die Hauptstadt der Musik - Napoleon hatte seine Eroberungsfeldzüge noch nicht auf Österreich ausgedehnt -, und daher wurde im Familien- und Freundeskreis beschlossen, den jungen Ferdinand nach Wien zu Beethoven zu schicken.

  Wien >


Bildquellen:

  1. Franz Anton Ries im Jahre 1785, Öl/Lwd., Privatbesitz
  2. Anna Gerhardina Ries, geb. Horst mit dem einjährigen Ferdinand im Jahre 1785, Öl/Lwd., Privatbesitz
 
Aktuell
 
Mitglied werden!
 
RIES JOURNAL
 
Hörproben
 
Publikationen
     
 
Lorenz Janscha, Johann Ziegler: Ansicht des Theaters und Redoutensaales zu Godesberg, kolorierter Kupferstich 1729, markiert: Ferdinand Ries Geburtshaus
Ferdinand Ries um 1820, Öl/Lwd., Beethoven-Haus Bonn
deutsch
english